_DSC1954 960 x 330
At just 22 years old, Mozart vowed to write a mass as a celebration of his marriage for his beloved Constanze, the result was his stirring ‘Great’ Mass in C minor. Skilfully written for voices and orchestra, this mass exploits the full range of emotions and ends in jubilant and celebratory style.Framed by two further Mozart miniatures is Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 2, showcasing the ‘simply heavenly playing’ (The Guardian) of pianist Llŷr Williams.
MOZART Regina coeli
MOZART Ah, lo previdi
MENDELSSOHN Piano Concerto No. 2
MOZART Mass in C minor K. 427 (‘Great’)
Hilary Davan Wetton,conductor
Llŷr Williams, piano
Rebecca Bottone, soprano
Rachel Nicholls, soprano
Richard Robbins, tenor
Thomas Humphreys, baritone
City of London Choir
Tuesday 19th March 2019, 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London, SW1X 9DQFor more information and ticket availability, click here